Skip to content

Not the official post about TAM6

03/07/2008

O.k. I know I said I’d do a post about The Amazing Meeting 6, which was fun, but not in the same, life-changing-meet-new-friends-and-the person-I’ll-run-away-to-Australia-for-and-marry, kind of way.

This isn’t that post.

However, it is the post in which I mention that I met Soccer Girl. She’s probably the cutest chick in the world. She has a very funny vodcast and she filmed me (very drunk) on Friday night doing my double jointed arm trick. See it here.

She and George Hrab were pretty much in each other’s hip pockets for the entire conference. Whether they’re a couple or not, I can’t say, but if they are a couple, they may be the sexiest pair of people I’ve ever met. Though Daniel Loxton (of Junior Skeptic) and his lovely wife are a close second. What is it about intelligence that makes people so darn hot?

Oh yeah, and did I mention that I’m a cover girl (hint : 2009 back cover)? It was a little weird having Phil Plait chase me down to get me to sign his copy of my picture. And by weird, I mean awesome. I have no shame at being a cover girl, since I share the honor of cover-personhood with Robert S. Lancaster.

I promise I will write a thorough, thought provoking post about The Amazing Meeting 6 in which I will cover all of the things about it that I feel totally suck in spite of it being a really great time, and in which I discuss my hangups about being a female in the skeptical movement and how I feel that the some girls in the movement get attention only if they act as cheerleaders for the men instead of actually doing meaningful work on their own (it’s like how in basketball, people go to the men’s games and leer at the cheerleaders, but the women’s league can’t get any respect, at least in America) and how I worry that I might be just another one of those cheerleaders… You get the idea.

I’ll do a full Good Things/Bad Things post. I promise.

3 Comments
  1. 03/07/2008 4:45 pm

    I’m totally in agreement that Soccergirl and George are super sexy! Zomg!

    I’m really interested in finding out your thoughts about women in the Skeptical movement. I struggle with feeling like I’m being taken seriously, especially since I’m not a scientist or a computer geek (although I <3 my laptop). I think being in calendar helped me meet more people, but unfortunately it rarely spawned conversation further than how much they liked my photo (July 2009) which is nice, don’t get me wrong. But I also do a lot of other things.

    I don’t think you are just a cheerleader. Clearly, your blog is evidence that you are contributing to a body of skeptical knowledge out on the web!

  2. podblack permalink
    20/07/2008 10:07 pm

    They were a couple, but apparently just now friends.

  3. emmajeans permalink
    13/09/2008 1:10 am

    blog more!
    Soon!
    It’s been months!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

