Skip to content

All the skeptic ladies, now put your hands up!

30/06/2010

There’s been a sort of a rash of skeptical blogging on the topic of women in the skeptical movement. And so, like I do with most rashes, I thought I’d scratch.

Or something. Did I lose you in that metaphor? Ah well.

The question these blogs pose is, where are all the skeptical ladies at?

I’ve already voiced my criticism of some of the women’s voices out there. However, I would like to acknowledge some of the women’s voices with which I have been agreeing lately. The following is a list of some of my skeptical heroines.

The first, of course, is the prolific, tireless and always enthusiastic Podblack (a.k.a. Kylie Sturgess) Not only is she a prolific blogger and activist, she has been doing the work of testing and teaching critical thinking and science education for years. She’s the only blogger here that I actually know in person, and she’s one of the friendliest people I know.

Next is a great blog by Twisty Faster, I Blame The Patriarchy (language NSFW). Not necessarily a skeptical blog, it is definitely a pro-science feminist blog. Twisty does not mince words. She smacks the reader about the face and neck with words like she’s swinging a whole side of beef. She wields power in her blog like a crazy despot of a tiny matriarchal princ(ess)ipality and woe to any who try to wave their magical meat wand around in the comments. She definitely made me realise that I wasn’t taking my feminism seriously enough, and yet at the same time, makes me laugh on a regular basis.

ICBS Everywhere is a blog after my own heart. Written by Barbara Drescher, it’s another great antidote to the boobiequakers and their placebo protests. Ms. Drescher does tend to be a bit busy with actual work, so doesn’t post as often as some bloggers, but when she does, it’s worth a read.

My newest heroine, I linked to in a previous post and that is Heidi Anderson of The Fat One in the Middle. *swoon* Funny, smart, feminist. Several of her blog articles articulate so well what I’ve thought I was alone in thinking. She’s an amazing lady and an excellent blogger.

SheThought is a great resource for skeptical writings by several women and Momma Data is one of my new favourite blogs simply because it presents the research and facts behind the constant terror marketed to mothers, from DryMax diapers to autism.

Side note: On PZ’s blog he asked female readers to link to their skeptical blogs, so I went ahead and linked to myself. Of course, I was down at comment 365 or something, so I doubt if I’ll get any traffic from it. I’d like more people to read my blog, but I hate that it opens me up to more criticism. Skeptopia was meant to be a safe place, but I can’t hide forever. When I first started this blog, I started a thread on JREF announcing it and immediately got some hater saying how much I sucked. I was crushed at first, then angry, then embarrassed, then I got a chip on my shoulder. I know I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, but I’ve got a bit more confidence now, so I’m not afraid. I am ready to stand up and be counted as a female skeptic blogger, dammit. Even if it turns out I’m not a very good one.

11 Comments
  1. 30/06/2010 12:14 pm

    You are an excellent blogger and you’ll never please everyone. Nobody can. We are all different and we all have different ideas about what is right and what is correct.

    I think what worries me most about blogging or even commenting, much more than criticism, is being misunderstood. That happens a LOT. You just have to roll with it, try to clarify, then move on.

    The thing that will help you the most, though, is just knowing that you’re not falling on deaf ears or alone in your thinking. I guarantee that whatever you write about, *someone* will be glad that you did.

  2. 30/06/2010 12:38 pm

    Haters seem to show up first. And, people who like a blogger seem often to be very quiet.

    I like your blog, even though I ally with … well, the Skepchics. There, I said it.

  3. 30/06/2010 12:39 pm

    Here here! I echo what Barb said. We stand united! Keep it going!

  4. 30/06/2010 2:06 pm

    There is a certain amount of bravery needed in being a blogger. I think you have a wonderful site and enjoy reading. Please keep up the wonderful work.

    No matter how much criticism you receive, or how frustrating it can be… always remember that YOU are source of shelter, support and inspiration for others. You give a voice for many who haven’t found their own… and perhaps, never will.

    … and you are DEFINITELY not alone!

  5. INFORMATION permalink
    30/06/2010 5:56 pm

    Heh – Greg Laden? ‘You’re Not Helping’. Door, ass… Kidding… :p :)

    And as for the compliments, Ms Skeptopia? (blush, *hides behind couch*). Back to you with them! :)

    I think later today I’ll make a special blog-list from the comments on the PZ post that list female skeptic bloggers who are NOT in the mainstream and acknowledged (as often as they could easily be!). And then collapse on the couch after sending in audio from another great skeptic blogger, Dr Pamela Gay, into the Skeptic Zone podcast. :)

    Much <3, Podblack.

  6. seantheblogonaut permalink
    02/07/2010 2:02 pm

    Knowing Podblack in person can you confirm either a) she has a clone b) she is testing some new big pharma drug that allows her to continue producing such high quality work with little to no sleep

    That being said I really like the bloggers you point out. Presenting different voices so that we don’t all become one big echo chamber.

    • noblecaboose permalink*
      02/07/2010 5:43 pm

      Podblack is actually a mutant. Her supermutantpower allows her to write and produce work constantly with very little sleep and still be surprisingly cheerful.
      I think it might involve the thyroid somehow.

  7. GeekGoddess permalink
    03/07/2010 10:48 pm

    I wish I had known about this before today! Wow.

    Ok, so I founded the Houston Skeptic Society, which is up to around 350 members so far. I contribute (at random intervals) to SWIFT, SheThought, Skepchick, SpaceCitySkeptics, my personal blog, and have been on a podcast 2-3 times. Too bad work gets in the way of more interesting stuff!

  8. 04/07/2010 8:55 pm

    I am new to blogging myself. The haters haven’t hit my blog yet but I have taken a few on the chin on twitter. It comes with the territory. Keep up the good work.
    PJ

    http://pjzen.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention All the skeptic ladies, now put your hands up! « Skeptopia -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

