Skip to content

Today I look at two sides of Christianity.

02/04/2008

Thanks to Neatorama I found a little bit of joy in Stuff Christians Like.

It brings back all kinds of fun memories for me. Anyone who grew up protestant and American can probably relate, but I’m sure there are Catholics and non-Americans who will get some of it. Man, oh man. Christian camp, Vacation Bible School, Youth Group, Sunday School, Catholic School, various Church events… it all came flooding back.

Thanks to John I got to take a sneak peek at the Creation Museum.

Oh dear… I just… can’t…believe it. It made my brain hurt. Lots. Now lately I’ve been wanting to shy away from belittling people’s beliefs, but this is just..so…insulting. They take Biblical mythology, dress it up in a labcoat and glasses and call it scientific. I mean, there are all of the trappings of a very beautiful and well presented natural history museum, but all of the placards present these silly biblical justifications as “science”.  They even pretend to be egalitarian by showing the “Human Reason” explanation (often with errors and misunderstandings) next to the “God’s Word”. Some of the “God’s Word” explanations I just can’t make heads or tails of. It’s truly baffling.

Like, apparently, “Biblical history is the key to understanding dinosaurs.” You hear that, paleontologists??

Ugh, I need to go lie down now. Or maybe go back to the good memories of being a Christian.

Yeah… Church camp… youth group…

One Comment
  1. Trithemius permalink
    02/04/2008 11:35 pm

    My bad! It was just too disturbing to not pass on.

    I have to admit that I am a bit jealous of pre-Fall humanity’s tame velociraptors. Okay, *extremely* jealous.

Comments are closed.

