Skip to content

We should all listen to more Le Tigre

29/06/2010

I’m getting more into feminism, therefore my playlists are getting decidedly chick-centric and I’ve sort of rediscovered Le Tigre.

Here are some Le Tigre videos.

I couldn’t find a video for Tres Bien, but that’s a great song too. In the middle there’s a break and a spoken mission statement for the band:

“Because they will try to convince us that we have arrived,
That we are already there, that “it” has happened.
Because we need to live in the place where we are truly alive,
Present, safe, and accounted for.
Because we refuse to allow our writing, songs, art, activism
And political histories to be suppressed or stolen.
Because we refuse to be embarrassed about the mistakes
And faults and choose to move forward
With a political agenda bent on freedom of all.”

Couldn’t have put it better myself.

Now I need to go find some Bikini Kill.

Comments are closed.

