Skip to content

Sometimes I’m so clever.

02/07/2010

I got retweeted at least three times today when I said this:
“Saying feminism doesn’t apply to you because you’re male is like saying racism doesn’t apply to you because you’re white.”

Meaning, of course, that being male is not an excuse to be oblivious to male privilege or the oppression of women, just as being white does not excuse you from being culturally sensitive or aware of inherent racism in society.
As my friend pointed out, it’s like saying “I don’t need to put a wheelchair ramp on my building because I am able bodied.”

Just because you are not the subject of oppression does not mean you are allowed to be oblivious to it. In fact, it is more important for you to be aware of it, because you are the one in power to change it.

So there.

Comments are closed.

