Skip to content

Cute Glasses of the Week

24/04/2012

Image

These adorable little blue-green tortoiseshell frames remind me of the first glasses I ever had.

Nostalgia break….

I was in 6th grade and had just started at St. Francis, the local Catholic school. I’d had a bit of a nervous breakdown at the public school, so my parents started me at the private school for my Junior High years. I got a good education there, though admittedly I got easily distracted. But who didn’t in their early teen years?

I was not terribly fond of my first glasses; they were a bit round and heavy.This meant avoiding wearing them a lot, which made me squinty. In 7th grade, I was only just realising my nerditude, as I started becoming slightly obsessed with Star Wars. This was partly due to my fascination with my brother’s Star Wars RPG sourcebooks, and partly due to a crush (and eventual first relationship) with a boy in my class. He had sideburns and dressed as Han Solo for Halloween. I’m not sure if it’s wishful thinking, but I think I was the only person who got his costume (15 years later, at a pop-culture convention, I was the only person to correctly identify someone’s costume as an Imperial Officer from Star Wars – yup, I’ve still got it).

Comments are closed.

